Last Minute Reads -Mini Review Roundup

We’re nearing the end of 2015, getting ready for a new year meaning things are coming to a close, and I’m desperately trying to tie all my reading- figuratively- loose ends. 

For 2015 I decided since I read beyond my last two challenges I figured I’ll be on track to deliver the same results so I should give myself a bigger goal. That was an adorable thought but I find myself, in this last month of the year, seriously scrambling to read a lot in a short amount of time. 😉 It’s just a small challenge, and no one but myself will care if I can or cannot surpass it. The fact is it really has been bothering me, haha, so I’m trying to do all of the reading! Big books, small books, comics and graphic novels of all kinds will help me just reach that 75 Reading Challenge goal.

Yes, if you look at the last handful of books I’ve read, they’re mainly comics and they’re like the shortest ever 😉 but this year I’ve been in a huge slump so at least I’m still reading which is important. I’ll be doing a yearly recap towards the end of the month which I’ll address that diving into comics was on my list of things to read for 2015, so all the more reason why I have more listed within my challenge. With that, I give you my mini review update:

Mini Review #1:
The Hogwarts Library (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Quidditch Through the Ages, The Tales of Beedle the Bard)
J.K. Rowling – Newt Scamander, Kennilworthy Whisp


J.K. Rowling, again, delivers such a treat for Harry Potter fans to read. She continues to deliver creative realms throughout her magical world that make you feel like you’re reading real history. Quidditch Through the Ages is so fun and is a sports history guide that you’d find for American baseball or English football which is fascinating. The revolution of the sport, the description of teams and regions where reigning champions are from will bring back Goblet of Fire memories. Tales of Beedle the Bard was really enjoyable to read as a magical Hans Christian Andersen’s lore of sorts. Obviously channeling Deathly Hallows, hearing Hermione’s voice as she narrated the Three Brothers tale which was a real treat to finally see on paper. What’s interesting is that Fantastic Beasts is the latest Harry Potter book to film and it was my least favorite. There wasn’t anything fun about some of the terrifying creatures I know from real life, reimagined worse than my actual, literal nightmares. I’ll still see the film, duh, and Newt’s journey will be exciting I just have to make sure I close my eyes if he finds every single creature. Although let’s be clear–I’m here for the Phoenixes, Hippogriffs, and Dragons. Yes please.

Mini Review #2:
Saga #31
Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)


As a new fan of this series AND as a reader who started with volumes–that they flew through reading– the individual issues are a bittersweet torture I’m bestowing upon my soul. I liked this issue, I saw on Goodreads it had some mixed reviews like “that’s it?!” but issues are small, there’s a certain amount of progression, so to me it’s understandable if nothing was extremely groundbreaking in the return of this story. Maybe in previous issues more went on but I still loved reading about Hazel and her journey and I’m back to panicking again about where the characters are in the series. Cannot wait for more!
PSA: IF YOU HAVEN’T READ SAGA WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR???!!

Mini Review #3:
Truly, Madly, Famously (Famous in Love #2)
Rebecca Serle

We’re back in the Locked universe where the first film in the franchise seems to be a success but MC Paige is channeling her character’s August storyline in having feelings for both of her co-stars, Rainer and Jordan. It was a decent follow-up, quick read and the movie magic, or rather celebrity drama is always interesting to read. Behind-the-scenes continues and Paige is struggling to keep up with her work life, home life, and personal life while not to create unflattering headline news. I continue to be Team Jordan and got a few treats within the pages of Serle’s book two of the series. Can’t wait for the next!

Mini Review #4:
The Boy Most Likely To
Huntley Fitzpatrick

A companion of sorts to My Life Next Door, we’re back with the Garrett’s but this time we’re on a journey with Tim who was a fun, hot mess side character and friend of Sam from the original story. We’re seeing post-accident where Tim Mason is at, now that he’s trying to stay sober and out of the political realm. Alice Garrett, the eldest of the female Garrett siblings, is dealing with a lot of stress the family is now going through. The attraction at first seemed to come out of nowhere and developed into something deeper but Tim gets an unexpected surprise on his doorstep one day which in the long run helps him become the man he should have if he didn’t get mixed up in a crazy social life and an uncomfortable home life. I loved going back into this storyline though! The characters are all so fun to read, especially the Garrett kids, and in a way My Life Next Door carries on which is delightful to read!

Mini Review #5:
Paper Girls #3
Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang (Illustrator), Matt Wilson (Illustrator)

The twists and turns in this new series from Vaughan and Chiang are really good–of course you’re always left at such a cliffhanger! The art continues to be awesome, you get some childhood throwbacks, and you have tons of drama! The group of girls continue to be badass and band together when most needed. Very interested to see where the story goes next.

 

If you want to catch up on more of what I’m reading, I’m on Goodreads! Feel free to add 😀

4 thoughts on “Last Minute Reads -Mini Review Roundup

  1. I’ve used a bunch of short comics to pad my year-end reading and see that magic goal complete before…I’ll probably have to do it again this year, too. ^^ Somehow, the time flies when you’re not looking, but like you said, at least we’re still reading. 🙂

    • so true! I just had some seriously slump-y months where nothing held my interest, which was lame but yes comics definitely are a reading goal lifesaver 😉 hahaha we’ll make it this year! Still a few weeks left! xo

  2. You can do!!! Still a little of over two weeks remaining in 2015! You’ve totally got this.
    I can’t wait to read The Hogwarts Library! (I’ll have to buy myself the set after Christmas.) Fantastic Beasts sounds right up my alley. Bring on the terrifying and the dragons! Haha.
    Kick this challenges butt!

    • 😉 Oh yeah–definitely one necessary for your shelves for sure! I think I’ll be able to pull it off haha! I’m also trying to read some books that I know I’ve wanted to read for awhile that I’ll read quickly so that’ll help my goal too (along with the comics lol!)

Leave a Reply

