Slasher Girls & Monster Boys | Anthology Review

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys | Available for Purchase: Amazon.com « Barnes & Noble « Book Depository
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke – Editor and Contributor
Publisher: Dial Books, a Penguin Books affiliate
Release Date: August 18, 2015
Pages: 385, hardcover
Received Copy: Hardback, personal library

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each story draws from a mix of literature, film, television, or even music to offer something new and fresh and unsettling. Even better? After you’ve teased out each tale’s references, satisfy your curiosity at the end, where the inspiration is revealed. There are no superficial scares here. These are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror, to the supernatural, to unnerving, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for anyone looking for an absolute thrill.


Really did love this anthology. I’ve said this before I don’t nearly read enough thriller/horror/suspense as I should, considering I have no problem watching it regularly. Some of the stories I felt were a little gruesome crimes afflicting females, this was just something I picked up that there’s was a bit rough to read. The stories vary and cover an array of horror topics such as: exes coming back to haunt you, ghosts, killers, zombies, paranoia, supernatural, etc. Overall I definitely would recommend others reading–one of my favorite things about this anthology is that after each story ends, the bottom of the page has the authors influences written so you can reference what it’s from!! I want to include all of my mini reviews I posted to my Goodreads account where I broke down each story for the anthology.

In order of appearance:

The Birds of Azalea Street – Nova Ren Suma’s story was so disturbing. I’ve felt that feeling before, when you’re convinced someone supposed friendly has a creepy, dark side you hope to never explore. A little too realistic until the end but liked this!

In the Forest Dark and Deep – Carrie Ryan’s twist on a classic meets modern day was pretty good.

Emmeline – Cat Winters story was interesting, a hauntingly beautiful one. I like the elements she pulled in to create the story

Verse Chorus Verse – Meh on Leigh Bardugo’s story. I don’t know, it didn’t grab me

Hide-and-Seek – Megan Shepherd’s story was really fun and action packed! Definitely liked this a lot

The Dark, Scary Parts and All – Interesting spin in Danielle Paige’s story. And note: even though they’re in current pop culture, any sort of literature should never remember the Kardashian’s–more than once referenced was much too much for me thanks

The Flicker, the Fingers, the Beat, the Sigh – Obviously April Tucholke’s story is my fav so far. IKWYDLS is my all time favorite ❤

Fat Girl With a Knife – I do enjoy a good zed story but Jonathan Maberry’s was kinda meh

Sleepless – Oh my god! Jay Kristoff’s Sleepless was SO GOOD!! Very Hard Candy meets Psycho *claps*

M – The Stefan Bachmann story was interesting…the element of removing one of the five senses works great building suspense

The Girl Without a Face – Damn Marie Lu’s story was all too real. Creepy & disturbing

A Girl Who Dreamed of Snow – McCormick Templeman’s story reminded me of a Lore episode. Interesting twist

Stitches – Eek–A.G. Howard’s story was gruesome

On the I-5 – Kendare Blake’s story was slightly confusing bc I didn’t know which way the MC was going but pretty good!

2 thoughts on “Slasher Girls & Monster Boys | Anthology Review

  1. Pingback: Mini Review Roundup Time – November Reads | A Bookish Sinister Kid

Leave a Reply

