Mini Review Roundup Time – September Reads

Sometimes I tend to read consecutive novels and I don’t get time to do a thorough review but I still want to share my overall thoughts with you whether I liked the book or not!

Mini Review #1:
The Assassin’s Blade (The Throne of Glass novellas)
Sarah J. Maas


I enjoyed this a lot! I actually am out of the norm when it comes to the Throne of Glass series whereas I love the first novels more so than her her newest additions to the series. I can’t help it but, there just something about learning Celaena’s past and her training and what shaped her into becoming who she was destined to be is fun and Sarah does an excellent job with that. Plus…Sam…<3 sigh. The book contains five novellas that easily can be considered a whole novel in itself! They all flow perfectly and they are very close together time-wise, even bringing you up to speed when one starts Throne of Glass book 1. Interestingly enough, either I just picked up on more details because I read it close to Queen of Shadows or it’s just there, but there was a lot mentioned in TAB that helped piece together things in Queen of Shadows. I didn’t do that (read TAB) on purpose close to the release but it was helpful. Definitely loved this!

Mini Review #2: SEMI-SPOILER-ISH . . . . . YOU’VE BEEN WARNED
Queen of Shadows (A Throne of Glass novel #4)
Sarah J. Maas


Well overall I did like it. I didn’t love it, but I liked it enough that I will most definitely continue the series but I just wasn’t head over heels in love. Aelin, aka Celaena, is really coming into her own and embracing her birthright. She faces many challenges as the kingdom is living in constant fear and there is death and destruction all around them. I wasn’t happy that Rowan came into the picture as soon as he did in this novel, I thought the audience would wait a while since Aelin had just returned to Adarlan and some of the actions and big reveals felt a bit rushed for my taste. Some of my favorite key characters stayed strong, a few surprised me, and some took a turn, not for the better ,and that was disappointing character development. I do really love the series but I’ve put this one up on a pedestal which is why my expectations aren’t matching what I’m reading.

*

 

Mini Review #3:
Saga, Volume 1
Brian K. Vaughan | Fiona Staples


This is…I’m not sure what exactly it is, but I loved reading it and I’m annoyed that I haven’t bought volumes 2-5 yet! Now I’m still super new to the comic and graphic novel world but I’m continuing to branch myself out and have heard nothing but great things about Saga. It captivated me from page 1, literally the main characters are getting ready for their baby to be born and the father helps deliver, I can’t stress how this comic went right there from the beginning, LOL! But it’s so refreshing and really well done. Two soldiers from opposing planets, planets that are in a galactic war with one another, have fallen in love. After soldiers Alana and Marko get married and give birth to their child, they’re on a race to stay alive for each other and for their baby but all sides wants to have them taken out. I can’t wait to continue and see where the story goes next!

Mini Review #4:
Everything, Everything
Nicola Yoon


LOVED THIS BOOK! I flew through this! Maddy is a seventeen year old who has a rare disease that basically leaves her allergic to everything. She hasn’t left the house since she was an infant and until a cute and mysterious guy named Olly moves in with his family next door does Maddy feel like she’s really missing out on life. She’s had to make do, lived a mostly content life with her mother and nurse who watch over her. Olly rolls into town and Maddy can finally breathe for the first time, becoming this risk-taker, a girl who loves, a girl who decides it’s about time she finds herself. Olly and Maddy’s connection and friendship built into a relationship leaving you with smiles, those hearts in your eyes a la Snapchat lenses! A page turner that had fun anecdotes from Maddy as well as all sorts of drawings and chats, giving the book a more interactive look into Maddy’s life. LOVE!

Mini Review #5:
Last Will and Testament (Radleigh University #1)
Dahila Adler


According to Goodreads, I started this book back in April of this year. I know I hit a reading slump in June-July, and I think I read like five books in a row in March into April but this was one book I punked out on. I remember picking up so many titles I had on my highly anticipated list that nothing was sticking. It was time to crack open my Kindle again because LWaT was my book club’s pick and am SOOOO glad I finally got back into it! (when I started the book I was only 1% in, so I wasn’t far at all)

I almost read this in an entire sitting! This NA was engrossing and interesting read because MC Lizzie Brandt has just learned that her parents were killed in an accident and now she’s got sole custody of her two younger brothers until a decision is made further down the line. Literally when Lizzie finds out the news of her parents she’s in quite the awkward position as she was in the middle of extra curricular activities. Such activities as a side piece in a frat boy’s quest to cheat which later comes back to bite her…and not in the way you’re thinking. Frat boy’s ex is Regina George x10,000 and several times I wanted to punch my Kindle I was so furious at this mean girl behavior. Throughout all this we have Lizzie going from college girl to inexperienced parent overnight and things get overwhelming and tough on her. Lizzie’s inner monologue is so fun and especially her thoughts about TA Connor Lawson who might be more than just her TA later on 😉 The story really flowed and I was able to keep up with all the character developments. I couldn’t be more excited to read the next novel in the Radleigh University series! Seriously tho, Connor is swoony…get on board reading this, great NA pick!

 

Leave a Reply

