Something Real by Heather Demetrios – Review


Something Real
 | Available for Purchase: Amazon « Barnes & Noble « Book Depository
Author: Heather Demetrios
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Release Date: February 4, 2014
Pages: 406, Hardback Edition
Received Copy: Personal library

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

There’s nothing real about reality TV.

Seventeen-year-old Bonnie™ Baker has grown up on TV—she and her twelve siblings are the stars of one-time hit reality show Baker’s Dozen. Since the show’s cancellation and the scandal surrounding it, Bonnie™ has tried to live a normal life, under the radar and out of the spotlight. But it’s about to fall apart…because Baker’s Dozen is going back on the air. Bonnie™’s mom and the show’s producers won’t let her quit and soon the life she has so carefully built for herself, with real friends (and maybe even a real boyfriend), is in danger of being destroyed by the show. Bonnie™ needs to do something drastic if her life is ever going to be her own—even if it means being more exposed than ever before.

Yep! I haven’t featured this (A Book Club Pick) in a while, but I really enjoyed this book so much I wanted to make sure I gave it a review! What’s peculiar about this novel is that I’m pretty anti-“reality” tv, but Something Real held my interest right from the very beginning. I got on Chloe/Bonnie™’s level right away as soon as I started her story. And to preface, like I do with like 90% of the books I read, most of the time I just know either a brief overview or I see others recommendations. I barely read any back of/jacket covers, not entirely sure, but I haven’t experienced many “DNF” books so I’m somewhat successful at this. So again, I knew it had something to do with tv or movies, that’s about it. But the struggle Bonnie™ has to find herself just when she’s starting to come into her own was emotional to read. I don’t remember being that vulnerable, and DUH I was never on tv, but I feel like I’m where Bonnie™ is now at my 28 years of age. I’m sorta lost in adulthood so I could definitely see Bonnie™’s fragile viewpoints of feeling so much pressure.


Best Friends…
The relationship between Benny and Bonnie™ was probably my favorite! (don’t worry I was all swoony for Patrick, we’ll get there) I only have one brother-in-law and we’re not very affectionate but we do have each other’s backs. And I have one sister who’s five years older than me so I don’t have someone who’s super close in age and can understand most of my feelings, but Benny could. I loved how serious yet carefree he could be. He’s a strong character and has confidence which I seriously lack in my real life, so a great treat to read! But their bond is special and it was nice to see them stick together.

Swoon 101…
Oh hai Patrick. Yes you were delightful to read. Patrick literally did pretty much everything a girl hopes for to find in a relationship when she’s moody and growing up. He was also my perfect mix of understand, non-judgy, smart, funny, romantic…okay you get the point. HE GIVES YOU THE SWOONS! Although I will admit, I was waiting much of the book for the other shoe to drop! I was waiting to find out about his stalker issues or games he played to screw Bonnie™ over but that ended up being avoidable.

Behind-the-scenes…
I liked that this was about a normal, yet diverse and loving family. Today there’s all the fake, too tanned & too plastic look to the “glamorous” people who get roped into reality tv. Then you have the people who are…I don’t know, they’re–they’ve got social issues: mega religious, mega trashy, just out of touch with some sanity. I’m doing a terrible job of explaining it, but I did see a lot of Bonnie™’s mom as Kris Jenner, someone who preys on their children’s success. Kris Jenner (in my opinion, as an example) doesn’t do it as much now but she paved the way after sex tapes and celebrity were established. Bonnie™’s mother got me so heated in the fact that she never put her children first. The major reason for many of the pivotal points in the story.

Expanding plot…
These examples aren’t really things I didn’t like, but I would’ve liked to have seen a little more to her and Lexie rebuilding their relationship as sisters. I would’ve liked to know about what MetaReal (i.e. E! network/TLC) put Bonnie™ and Benton™ legally. Lastly, I really wanted to know more of what happened with her mom. That character infuriated me and I know all-too-well what a volatile relationship with a mother can be and that was an easy connection to make while reading. And in the end I would’ve liked to hear a little more in maybe an epilogue where things went.

*

*
I’ve heard TONS about Heather’s I’ll Meet Your There which isn’t down too far on my TBR list so hopefully I can get that soon and read. Seriously I can’t tell you how many people are all over this. Heather released this book LAST year right around this time, sooooo I might have to wait a little longer to get my hands on IMYT to read and review 😉

Until next time, The Kid xx

One thought on “Something Real by Heather Demetrios – Review

Leave a Reply

