There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake – Review

There Will Be Lies | Available for Purchase via Amazon.com • Barnes & Noble • Book Depository
Author: Nick Lake
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release Date: January 6, 2015
Pages: 464, hardback cover
Received Copy: Advanced Readers Copy (ARC) Received via NetGalley for personal, unbiased review

Synopsis via Goodreads:

In four hours, Shelby Jane Cooper will be struck by a car.

Shortly after, she and her mother will leave the hospital and set out on a winding journey toward the Grand Canyon.

All Shelby knows is that they’re running from dangers only her mother understands. And the further they travel, the more Shelby questions everything about her past—and her current reality. Forced to take advantage of the kindness of unsuspecting travelers, Shelby grapples with what’s real, what isn’t, and who she can trust . . . if anybody.

Award-winning author Nick Lake proves his skills as a master storyteller in this heart-pounding new novel. This emotionally charged thrill ride leads to a shocking ending that will have readers flipping back to the beginning.
*

*

*
Things I Did Like:

Diversity…
I really loved that Shelby was deaf. A character with an impairment is something I don’t see enough of when picking up a book these days. You are reminded, while reading through Shelby’s eyes, just how amazingly lucky one is to have the sense of hearing and to be able to communicate so easily. You can scream, you can sing, you can learn other languages, you can whisper, you can do a lot listening to the sound of your voice and others voices. A reminder of how valuable our sense are if we have them all.

Incorporation…
I also was very intrigued to read how the story of The Dreaming worlds ran into Native American culture. I’m a history fan so it’s always very cool to learn about other cultures and where their stories come from. We all have legends and parables that we know by heart and to read about the Coyote and nature’s part was a delight.

Unexpected…
When I requested this I briefly read the description but, really skimmed it, but remember seeing the buzz online so I made sure I tried to get my hands on the novel. I started reading and didn’t really know where this story was going. By the time I finished on Goodreads I started reading some of the brief snippets of posts from my phone I can understand why a few didn’t finish. I’m glad I stuck it out because I found myself wanting to read until the end to see where things went for Shelby.

Things I Didn’t Like:

Confusion…
When the book starts off I had an inkling that either Shelby or her mother was deaf. The mention of closed captions being on the television was the most obvious. Having personally grown up with a grandmother who had a hearing problem, when she reached her 70’s the TV always had closed captioning on which as a teen drove me crazy because all I’d do was read instead of watch the show. I digress, but the clarification of who is actually deaf doesn’t come until like 40% through the book. That can be seriously confusing for the audience to read and follow along with.

Layout…
Another issue I had was when Shelby’s character enters The Dreaming, I feel like the font should have been italicized. Not too sure if this will happen in the actual book, again I received an ebook copy which sometimes has formatting issues, but I really wanted to see some sort of shift to show we’re no longer in The Dreaming and vice versa. I know there are several parts later on when Shelby goes in and out quickly but to start off, showing this distinction, from a reader’s perspective, this could have helped.

 

Thanks again, Bloomsbury, for giving me the chance to review. Overall I say, power through and it’s worth checking out 🙂

until next time …Linz xx The Kid

One thought on “There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake – Review

  1. Hmmm. Ashley is reading this one now and honestly I haven’t give it much thought myself. Safe to say, reading your review – it is not what I expected. If I do end up reading it, i’ll be glad I read this so that it might ease some of that confusion. I do agree though, the deaf character is a rarity.

Leave a Reply

