Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle review

Famous in Love (Famous in Love #1)
Author: Rebecca Serle
Publisher: Poppy, Hachette Book Group
Release Date: October 21, 2014
Pages: 336 pages, Harback cover
Received Copy: Advanced Copy courtesy of the author
Available for Purchase via Amazon

I had heard of Famous in Love several months ago when a random tweet about upcoming YA novels to look out for Summer and Fall 2014. I had read the description and immediately this book had piqued my interest. Then I attended BookCon (See more here link) where I had met up with a few bloggers/friends who informed me of book drops—one of the books I was getting ready to pick up at said book drop was, you guessed it, Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle. When I arrived, the books had literally been put out and then it’s like someone cast a spell and POOF! Gone. But never fear because I was actually able to receive a copy and was so excited to finally get my hands on the book!

Synposis:

The romantic story of a girl who gets plucked from obscurity to star in the next major feature film franchise based on a book and the ensuing love triangles she gets entangled in on—-and off screen. 



Meet Paige Townsen, Rainer Devon, and Jordan Wilder…

When Paige Townsen, a young unknown, gets cast in the movie adaptation of a blockbuster book series, her life changes practically overnight. Within a month, Paige has traded the quiet streets of her hometown for a crowded movie set on the shores of Maui, and is spending quality time with her co-star Rainer Devon, one of People’s Sexiest Men Alive.

But when troubled star Jordan Wilder lands the role of the other point in the movie’s famous love triangle, Paige’s crazy new life gets even crazier.

In this coming-of-age romance inspired by the kind of celeb hookups that get clever nicknames and a million page views, Paige must figure out who she is – and who she wants – while the whole world watches.

This actually was a really interesting read because…I hate to be cliché and give this comparison because I have a LOT, A LOT of opinions of things of this fandom—and I can say this because I’m still sort of involved in it: Twilight.

I will admit the following: I own two sets of these books, I only all of the movies on DVD, I had several magazines with Rob and Taylor’s faces splattering their covers that I’ve slowly recycled over the years, I’ve read and fed into the drama, I STILL read fanfiction concerning the Twi-verse….let’s just say I’m a veteran of the Twilight fandom.

Soooo, once again, I don’t want to be clichéd, but it was easy for me to understand where the Famous in Love was coming from.

I want you to know this, as a reader and former Twifan, this book is completely stand alone! Books now being adapted into a film franchise, two male leads the female lead has to choose between, two VERY attractive male lead roles, and the phenomena that come with it—these are the only similarities. If you keep going, you’ll realize just where things leave the world you might know and dive into main character Paige Townsen’s in Serle’s world.

Paige just got a golden ticket into the acting business and because there’s unease in her home life, friends who will support but can’t fully understand, Paige is left alone to travel and dive into an unknown realm. Pretty boys and bad boys that grace magazine covers are now her co-workers. No longer are her days spent in school, doing her homework, and working part time at Trinkets and Things but remembering lines, getting into character playing August, and some steamy on-screen (and off) makeout sessions.

During production Paige gets on another level with both her co-stars, Rainer and Jordan, and must choose like the character she’s playing, August who must choose between current boyfriend Ed, and long-time crush Noah. Also, a bonus for those who enjoy reading the book: author in Serle’s book, Parker Witter, wrote the book Locked that’s available for sale in e-book format! This was SUCH a treat as someone who had just finished Famous in Love—the only real-life reference I could think of this was when JK Rowling wrote The Tales of Beedle the Bard and everyone was able to buy it—the book within a book!! WOO HOO!

Things I Liked:

-the Plot…
As someone who loves being a part of fandoms of all kinds, I was able to understand the factors that went into Paige and her role in the novel. She’s been picked as lead, a role EVERY girl would love to play and she’s an unknown. She has a lot riding on her performance not only as an actor but justifying a whole group of fans who have this character on a pedestal. It’s giving me anxiety just thinking about. I also really loved the atmosphere of getting so excited for a book release that you go at midnight to the bookstore to get a copy! As a book nerd, that’s a fantastic feeling!!

-A Healthy Mix…
There are great dilemmas in this book that tugged on my heart strings, her friends moving on while she’s on set in Hawaii filming, trying to establish a better relationship with her parents, especially her mother, and of course her boy dilemma.

-the Other Side…
I love the behind-the-scenes aspect. It’s always fun to imagine what your favorite actors are doing, how they are in everyday life. It seems so stressful but sometimes there can be some major perks…like that number that now shows up in your bank account, but maybe that’s me as a broke adult who thinks that’s the major plus LOL!

-the Boys…
Oh hello. Rainer is like the pretty boy of the book: he’s got the looks, the charm, though a little older than Paige, he seems a little more together. But….Jordan. Oh hi, Jordan 😉 Jordan has the bad boy persona down…who might just surprise you so don’t be fooled by his reputation.

Things I Didn’t Like:

-WHEN CAN I GET BOOK 2???!!!
Haha, so no real disappointment here…it was a fast read for me because I didn’t want to put it down. Famous in Love is out on October 21st so I hope you will show author Rebecca Serle some love and get your copy!! Who will you choose….Team Rainer or Team Jordan? [the real question to pose]
**Make sure you check out Locked as a follow-up to see the real love-triangle of Paige’s character August with Noah and Ed!!

Until next time…
Linz aka The Kid xx

Leave a Reply

