Top Ten Tuesday: Rough Reads edition


September 30: Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read (because difficult of book, subject matter, because it was cringeworthy– however you want to interpret), the weekly topic provided by The Broke & Bookish

Throughout my years of reading, I have noticed there are a few areas and subject matters that just really either hit home or I just get so enthralled in the story line that the characters’ feelings transfer into my own and I can read things so personally. My hard limits are usually best friends falling out/betrayal, lying on a big, grand scale/question of morality, and most importantly: bullying/neglecting others. Reading these topics can typically rock me to my core because I’ve either experienced these topics or I feel morally obligated to fight for these non-existent characters. They’re not real, but when I read the words that make these story lines come alive, I feel like I need to be on their team, on their side.

Here are some of my rough reads…even to think about some of these titles get me going, LOL!

Each of these titles had friendships rocked to the core and having been in similar situations, there’s nothing worse then giving your trust to someone and having things thrown in your face. Backstabbing. Severed ties. Bridges never mended.


There is nothing more that I hate, than a group of individuals who think they need to make up the rules of exclusivity. I’ve been a victim of it, I still witness it in current friendships and it’s really the saddest thing. Seeing someone stoop so low to keep control of a group of people because they have “influence” which is nothing more than mean-ness or low self-esteem. It irks me in real life and on the pages I read.

 

Just as much as the mean girl behavior gets me going, bullying is just plain unacceptable. Feeling the need to belittle someone for reasons you deem the sense of entitlement over another is pretty despicable. Especially those who are just their own different self. Those you are quiet. Those whom keep to themselves. Those who don’t wear the “right” clothes. Those who may have a different skin color. Those who are a different kind of popular than the clichéd expected cookie-cutter mold. People who are individuals for themselves scare those who like to conform and it’s just pathetic to see and I want nothing more than to help those. **Note that these titles actually deal with legitimate suicide or suicidal thoughts….as you can imagine, bullying is the root of the evil of thinking death is a better way out then to deal with the incessant torture. That’s how severe this behavior can be…pick up a newspaper you’ll see the real life repercussions.

 

So yes I actually have nine titles and not 10 but I put these two books (which makes the grand total of 11 titles) were hard books because of the overall heighten stages of these books:

Heir of Fire because you find out how MORE EFFED UP THE KING IS, meanwhile SO much shit goes down I just….my emotions were RAGING, literally at almost every character for what they had been put through…oh god, I have to stop because I can’t let my mind go back there again

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, again, because this book is EPIC. Like, battles everywhere, people good and bad just perishing and fighting evil in the face…there’s just a BUNCH of drama that makes you need to put the book down, but keep on reading, and then put the book down so you can grab a box of tissues because you will cry your eyes out for the last 200 or so pages of this series. It’s the finale of all finales. It’s a tough read, why? Because childhoods end. A story world created a magical place that has to now come to a close even though it breaks your heart to let it go on without you.

 

What are some of the titles that were difficult to read through? A few of these books aren’t even on my shelves anymore, that’s how much of a tough time I had reading them.

 

Until next time, Linz aka The Kid 🙂

 

*images not mine–no copyright infringement intended 

Leave a Reply

