Virgin by Radhika Sanghani

Virgin
Author: Radhika Sanghani
Publisher: Berkley Trade, Penguin Group Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DA
Release Date: August 5, 2014
Pages: 304 pages, Kindle version
Received Copy: Electronic NetGalley Advanced Copy
Available for Purchase via Amazon

Let’s face it, living in 2014 comes with a whole set of rules than years or decades before it. That being said, Radhika Sanghani wrote an honest novel of how virginity shouldn’t be such a big deal anymore. The story focuses on Ellie Kolstakis who’s 21, finishing up her college years in England where she feels like she’s the last in the crowd of teens/twenty-somethings to have sex…for the first time. Ellie does seem a little selfish and immature but who isn’t, really, at 21 and goes on a journey to get herself deflowered. Ideally she is looking for someone she’s compatible with but fearing to strike out time and again, she almost wants to settle for any guy–not the best idea but she can’t get out of that mindset.

Synopsis: (via Goodreads)

Okay, I admit it…I didn’t do it.

Yet.

This is normal, right?  I mean, just because everyone I know has talked like they’ve already done it doesn’t mean that they’re telling the truth…right?

It’s not like I’m asking for that much. I don’t need the perfect guy. I don’t need candlelight or roses. Honestly, I don’t even need a real bed.

The guys I know complain that girls are always looking for Mr. Right—do I have to wear a sign that says I’m only looking for Mr. Right Now?

Sooooo…anyone out there want sex? Anyone? Hello? Just for fun?

I am not going to die a virgin. One way or another I am going to make this happen.

Hey, what have I got to lose? Besides the obvious.

.

.

.

Overall I enjoyed this. I definitely found parts humorous and I liked how real the writing was. At first I think a reader is a little bit shocked at the technical terms for body parts & sexual things but following along it wears off and it seems like a story that could happen in real life. I applaud the author for writing like that because girls go through a spectrum of so many emotions and happenings that it can get very overwhelming when you think about it losing your virginity, doing anything sexually, and feeling the need to fit in.

One thing I would have loved to have seen more of was the reaction to the vlog. It would’ve been nice to see how their posts coming across to readers. If the readers were benefiting from their advice/stories of woe and experience that they were willing to share in the online community. Also, I know this was an ARC but I hope the vlog posts were italicized because even though a title for the post was shown it would be nice to see the distinction and not confuse future readers.

On a personal note I definitely could relate to Ellie’s character. We’re a culture that’s getting sexualized more and more “dress sexy, explore sexy, make guys want to find you sexy” and it sells which puts a terrible notion inside impressionable female heads. The part of also feeling excepted and like you’re not missing out–I’ve been known to struggle over that as well. The cookie cutter look of being skinny, having a fit body, a certain hair color, a certain eye color…what’s the most desirable is continuously stacked against those who are just trying to be themselves while needing to feel accepted.

If you’re looking for something with a little sex and humor, I’d definitely try to check this out.

 

Linz aka The Kid xx

Leave a Reply

