Anna, Me, & Films

Hi All!! Hope everyone is enjoying the readalong so far! You all still excited that #IslaIsComing?! To help close things out with the first novel by Stephanie Perkins, Anna and the French Kiss, I’m here to bestow upon you my great film knowledge….or rather, my love for film.

via tumblr

One of the many things I related to, while reading the novel, was Anna’s love for movies! Movies are pretty much my thing. I can quote them. I can tell you who that obscure looking fellow was behind the desk in that one cop movie or tv show. Basically a walking IMDb and I’m more than okay with that. Anna’s dream and passion is film and after she finishes her senior year at SOAP in that beautiful, gay Paree, she hopes to become the next Roger Ebert…in female form.

I absolutely geek out at the part where she discussed her love for the classics! Hoping to become a Robert Osborne from Turner Classic Movies–not gonna lie, totally a dream of mine too– she is able to view some classics back on the big screen all thanks to her first stroll in Paris with the SWOONIEST Étienne St. Clair, BFF and love interest, who informed her that Paris has a strong appreciation for films. No matter the genre, year, country origin–France will show it in their thousands of movie theaters across cities! Anna while extremely excited by this revelation decides she’ll practice her review skills and ventures out into the city to watch what she can. Accompanied by others or alone, Anna gets a new movie-watching experience like no other!

Some of the awesome films mentioned throughout the novel are:

Rushmore
It Happened One Night
Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
The Texas Chainsaw Massacre
Danny Boyle film fest
A Hard Day's Night
Lost in Translation
Roman Holiday

 

I’ve only had the pleasure of seeing a handful of these ALL the way through but I can tell you, from this list alone Anna was on the right track. Diverse films should make for a well-rounded critic for sure 🙂

On the subject of film and being that the story takes place in Paris, I wanted to share with you my top three favorite French films!

 

Un film:

I have a soft spot for Audrey Tatou and this film is so whimsical and breathtaking, Amélie will whisk you away on her journey to help those in need and to find love in the silly process! It’s definitely my number one favorite foreign film. It’s a tad on the longer side but worth it. Audrey’s performance is fantastic and the cast of characters are always fun to watch. Definitely check it out!
IMDb: Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain



Deux film
:

Another film Audrey performed beautifully in. A tragically, beautiful love story set during World War I that shows the path of two friends who become lovers and soulmates during a difficult time. Audrey’s character searches for her missing fiance while looking back at their lovely memories together. The film is so gorgeously shot as well as there being some delectable eye candy, you’ll definitely want to watch this.
IMDb: A Very Long Engagement

Trés film:

This movie is so hilarious! I was so disappointed in Hollywood when they APPALLINGLY remade this classic film…dumbed it down and made it unbearable to even enjoy. The Dinner Game has a kind of terrible storyline where a group of male friends host a dinner party with one another but there is a catch. The catch is each friend attending must bring a guest with them…the guest has to be…well, stupid. Foolish. Someone the men can have camaraderie over insulting the guest after they leave. One of the friends has been having back pain and has to miss a dinner but fortunately, or unfortunately–however you’d like to look at it, he had already picked up his idiot for the dinner game so he’s stuck alone with a night full of complete mishap and hilarity! I actually randomly found this movie on IFC or was it Sundance(?) but regardless, I thought it was the funniest and even got my mom to watch a bit of it. (She’s not a foreign film fan)
IMDb: Le dîner de cons

Honorable Mentions….these two films are great as well and they have Americans you’ll notice make appearances in the films! Check them out as well!
Le Divorce via IMDb ….sisters face cultural differences and customs while dealing with love, romance, sex, and family drama
Paris, je t’aime via IMDb ….a series of short films expressing the different ways to fall in love with Paris

****

On a side note fellow readers…the most beautiful thing came in the mail the other day and I finally opened it!

Hope you guys have enjoyed the readalong so far and are looking forward to reading Lola and the Boy Next Door! SOON….#IslaIsComing…SOON! Don’t forget to hashtag on twitter and join the party!

xx Linz

8 thoughts on “Anna, Me, & Films

  1. I’ve watched and LOVED Amelie and A Very Long Engagement (obviously..Amelie is one of my all time faves) but never heard of the last one!! And omg CANNOT WAIT FOR YOU TO READ ISLA!!

  2. I have not seen any of these movies! I’m more of a TV watcher, but now I will have to look for these. They seem interesting.

    And I’m so excited that you got Isla. I love that you started Lola reread early so you can get to Isla faster. HA. You are going to go INSANE over it. I just know it. 🙂

  3. Your movie selections look fantastic…I’m definitely going to check them out. And look at how gorgeous all three books look together! I cannot wait to get my pre-order so I can line them all up on my shelf!!

Leave a Reply

