Don’t Look Back Review

Hi Everyone!!

I’m super excited to talk about this book–so let’s get to it!

Don’t Look Back
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Hyperion, imprint of Disney Book Group
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Pages: 368 pages, hardcover
Received Copy: Personal copy


I’m going to start off by saying, I think this was an ARC I could’ve gotten at ALA Midwinter but clearly I’m not sure what happened because I missed out. No worries because I ended up buying it. The cover is what caught my attention the most. It looked creepy, eerie, and it did not disappoint!

Main character Sammy comes out of a horrific accident with memory loss forgetting who she used to be. All around Queen Bee, and the Bee most definitely stands for Bitch, because this chick’s character had major attitude problems pre-memory loss. Throughout the novel the pieces of the tragic night when best friend Cassie went missing, slowly creep back into her psyche and she realizes the horrifying truth of what really happened.

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

Things I Liked:

the Cover…
Obviously I’m going to start here because I mentioned earlier that this cover is pretty cool looking. It also gives great significance throughout the book but appearance-wise, it’s downright interesting! The creepy vibe and the haunting look of it really captures a new reader–for myself, anyway. I was drawn to it and while looking at the cover I thought “Oooh! Now that’s a book I gotta know how it ends!

the Story…
From page one, actually from cover page haha, I was hooked! I’m a person that’s pretty good at keeping the suspense at bay–my sister on the other hand needs to spoil herself in order for her to continue. WHICH ANNOYS ME TO NO END, but I digress 😉 Definitely kept up throughout the story!

the Theories…
Oh god, if you knew the theories I came up with on who did what to whom in this book I could go on forever. Everyone was guilty. Everyone wasn’t. I thought of a million different scenarios on Sammy returning and what happened to Cassie. And if you’ve read the book, one of my theories is just so very wrong lol! (Shhh! But I didn’t know ha)

oh Hello Sir…
One word: Carson. Mmmm… yes and PLEASE!

the Movement…
I thought the story progressed very timely. Nothing seemed quite rushed. Elements weren’t out of place from where they needed to be. I liked the flow of it all.

Things I Didn’t Like:

the Backstory…
Possibly a bit more backstory or flashbacks on how cruel Sammy and Cassie used to be. Also a bit more detail on her father and mother’s background, enough was given but maybe better roots? This element didn’t make or break my opinion of the book, it could’ve been an added bonus. I read the characters just as they were supposed to be contrived as but maybe future readers would like that!

 

Overall I definitely think you should give this book a try! Time and time again I usually forget how awesome suspense is! I’m big on “I have to keep watching/reading to find out what’s going on!” which makes the stories fly by, haha!

If you’ve read it I’d love to hear your thoughts! Did it end like you had thought it would? Were the characters guilty you pegged from the beginning or was your head swarming with theories like mine?

Linz aka The Kid xx

Leave a Reply

