The Here and Now Review

Hi guys,

Long time no see and I am mostly, definitely at fault for that.

.

.

.

You see, I had a book hangover, a bad one. I finished Open Road Summer (which if you haven’t already purchased yet you need it on your shelf, GO!) and I just…couldn’t get focused to read. I tried three books before I said to myself, “Book club is soon, I cannot slack!” So here it goes:

The Here and Now
Author: Ann Brashares
Publisher: Random House Kids – Delacorte Press
Release Date: April 8, 2014
Pages: 288, Hardcover
Received Copy: ARC at ALAMW

I was able to receive an ARC of The Here and Now at ALA Mid-winter and since all of book club went and picked it up as well we came to the decision to make this our monthly choice!

Now I haven’t read or seen the Sisterhood of Traveling Pants, I know–shame on me, so I hadn’t read any of Ann’s famed novels. I also can honestly say I went into this book not knowing anything. I didn’t know it featured time travel or anything with the future, just that it most likely had a semi-love plot going on, haha! I usually see my feed on Twitter/Instagram/Goodreads on what’s up and coming to look out for and I just mark it down.

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.

This is the story of seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins.

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth.

But everything changes when Prenna falls for Ethan Jarves.
.     .     .      .     .

The book was pretty intriguing and I saw some mixed reviews on Goodreads from fellow readers but I didn’t want to let that sway my opinion–I can be terrible for falling for that.

Things I liked…

the Plot:
I thought it was pretty interesting, especially since I didn’t know much about the book. I went into reading this with a fresh attitude which was great! I found the book suspenseful at times and I always forget that that’s a genre I should read more of. It’s an easy way for me to read faster because I just NEED TO KNOW!

the Questions posed:
Upon reading the book I did a bunch of thinking. I probably got too involved in getting hooked into the plot–not that this is a terrible thing–but I started thinking on a huge spectrum of everything in life. A range of things crossed my mind: what will the future be like? Will the things predicted in the book be a possibility? Is time travel possible? Will things like money and paper have a lesser value in time when we’re clearly living in a digital age? What’s in store for technology? …which then lead into REALLY deep questions… What’s going to happen to my future? What happens when I die? If I found out the day I die, would I want to know? How long will I live for? What does my future hold and how can I make the most of my time here?

See? I went WAY. TOO. DEEP! But the important thing is, as much as those questions completely freak me out, it wasn’t possible to think about this until I made time to read–the questions weren’t on the forefront on my mind, I mean. I kind of loved and hated this idea haha!

the Characters:
Never once did I doubt any of the characters motives or actions. They were pretty genuine and interesting to follow. Ethan is by far my absolute favorite! He’s smart–so, so smart, and the nicest. He cares for Prenna and has this ability to be everything for her and more and I really loved that. And even the despicable characters were always so despisable.

the POV:
One of my favorites! If you know me by now, or have been reading enough of the reviews, you’ll know I’m not always keen on alternating points of view. Singular first person or third are usually what I’m fond of the most. The book starts off in Ethan’s POV and the rest is in Prenna’s. It’s actually crucial to know from his view and helps you have some insight the main character doesn’t have. Nice twist. I would like to see more authors do this.

the Book Length:
Just around perfect. It might’ve been cool to see an epilogue…I think a sequel is risky but a few years into how things had changed would be interesting.

the Cover:
It’s just so pretty and really captivating–an eye-catcher for sure! While reading I tended to glance back at the cover and some mysteries are revealed while reading. So just a pointer, if you’re reading it, take a look at the cover and figure out what you notice. That’s always something fun to help while reading.

Things I Didn’t Like….

That I decided to put off reading this book for so long!  😉

 

I would definitely recommend this book–it’s a good buy or kindle deal for sure! It’s got mystery, suspense, love, a bit of sci-fi, drama all wrapped up into one! You won’t be disappointed.

If you’ve read it I’d love to hear your thoughts….haven’t seen a ton of buzz for this one, so comment if you’ve read it.

Until next time…

Linz xx

Leave a Reply

