Open Road Summer by Emery Lord | Review

YAY!!! So after a downer book I was looking for something fresh, something new, and a feel good book to get me out of my sad state. This book was highly anticipated and was just waiting for me on my shelf! With Spring arriving (hopefully it’s ready to stay in the Northeast) I’m gearing up with summertime reads already and Open Road Summer is a MUST-READ this year!! (pre-order! right now! GO! ….I’ll wait….)

Open Road Summer
Author: Emery Lord
Publisher: Bloomsbury – Walker Childrens
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Pages: 352, Paperback
Received Copy: ARC at ALAMW

Synopsis (via Goodreads)

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own. Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence. This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking. A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.

When I opened the book and started reading I already had a sense of how I thought the book would play out but thankfully I was wrong–my version would’ve been a lot of heartbreak and scandal haha, so thank god I was wrong on that! I ended up flying through it and definitely think this is a great summer read for all! Reagan has a bit of baggage with having both mommy/daddy issues, living a little less dangerously going into her senior year, and dealing with her best friend who’s a country music star. Throughout the book I was sort of jealous of Reagan: this girl who has this summer to figure things out–I wish I had had that when I was her age. To work on herself and her flaws, being a better Reagan and supporting her best friend, Dee, otherwise known as superstar musician Lilah Montgomery. I will admit, there were times when I was picturing a Taylor Swift equivalent and had Taylor’s songs as a running soundtrack for a good chunk of the book (don’t worry, you can phase it out) but the book definitely stands on its own. And adding Matt Finch, former family band heartthrob does not hurt, which makes a rather enjoyable summer for the girls. It’s not only a story of friendship–summer fun & summer love, but it’s about finding oneself. And Reagan’s journey is one you need to read!

Things I Liked:

the Friendship…
Dee and Reagan have a strong bond that any girl yearns for and values while..frankly being alive, haha that sounds a lot weird when you read it but it’s true. We want the person who knows us inside and out, who’s there for everything, and who you can be your complete self around. Both girls are in need of their friendship at this point in their lives and the summer tour is the perfect place to help keep it strong.

the Music…
There’s a lot of song lyrics and songwriting throughout the novel and it’s kind of a cool process to read about. How artists use so much of their emotions and life situations to help shape memorable lyrics for us as fans to enjoy. Even if the songs aren’t playing on the radio, the reader can make up their own little country melody to help bring the song to life in their head.

the Love…
Ohhhh the love that is shown in this book–there’s so much! Reagan’s love for her best friend, for her new romantic love, her love for both her parents and Dee’s parents, and maybe my favorite love that she has: photography!

Things I Didn’t Like:

….where’s the sequel? Outtakes? Novellas? I NEED MORE!

Haha, not an actual drawback to the book but I’m telling you ladies & gentlemen, you’re going to want to read this! It’s fun, it’s an escape, it’s a book you’ll need for your shelves 🙂 Make sure you own your copy this April!! Also take a sneak peak at my Books-on-a-Vine page to see my 6 second Vine review 🙂

xx Linz

One thought on “Open Road Summer by Emery Lord | Review

  1. Pingback: The Kid: a Book Devotee

Leave a Reply

