Review Roundup

Hey All!

With my long weekend here, I figure I’d catch up on some posting–I’ve been a little scarce lately so I’d like to fix it. I wanted to try and come up with a new idea where I’m pressed for blog posting time but have read a bunch and still want to share with you, so now we have the:


….So let’s get to it (yay! I’m excited!)….

A series that I hope you all will pick up sometime in the future if you haven’t done so already

Pivot Point / Split Second by Kasie West Amazon (SS) | Goodreads (SS)

I received my copy of Split Second at ALAMW (a trend you’ll continue to see) and that very weekend Pivot Point was having a Kindle deal sale so I knew I couldn’t pass it up! The story is really fantastic–an alternate universe where main character, Addie, can use a power to Search into her future and know the outcome of paths chosen in life. Pivot Point was so enthralling I could not put it down and was so thankful to have the Split Second ready to go! The story continues with Addie’s journey with the aftermath of decisions made (and not made) in Split Second. Addie’s best friend Laila is a tell-it-like-it-is chick that has such sass and spunk that helps balance Addie’s more refined approach to things. Duke/Trevor/Connor are pretty swoony so you don’t want to miss out! Trevor actually makes my Top Ten Tuesday list for Swoony Boys, so check it out!
.
.
.
The next book I have is veryyyyyy underwraps so I can’t give much detail BUTTTTT…..

I can assure you that Rainbow continues to deliver! Once again she’s presented us with a story that has flawed characters that you love and don’t entirely want to let go after you’ve finished reading. This book comes out July 18, 2014 but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE put it on your TBR list! While this novel is adult rather than her usual YA lit she’s been recently writing, the reader still is entertained and sucked into the world Rainbow has created.

Landline by Rainbow Rowell Amazon | Goodreads
.
.
.
Lastly I was able to finish a highly anticipated book left in the Shatter Me trilogy:

Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3) by Tahereh Mafi  Amazon | Goodreads
The series ending was a bit sad because I had really enjoyed the build up to this point in the series. I can honestly say that this book, while a good idea just lost the storyline and became more of a love triangle fiasco rather then the task at hand, Juliette finding herself and taming The Re-establishment in this dystopian universe. I felt like the book had potential but for some reason I was not a fan of the overall read–it fell flat which was unexpected because this was a highly anticipated read of mine. I kept second guessing characters moves–ready for it too all blow up in my (the readers) face. Just very uneasy.

Some good and some not-so-good book recs but be sure to check out any of the above! If you’ve read any of the following, I’d love to hear your thoughts if you agreed or disagreed with the stories!

xxLinz

2 thoughts on “Review Roundup

  1. I LOVED Pivot Point 🙂 I have Split Second from the library right now because my copy is on it’s way and I couldn’t out haha but I still haven’t read it. A few more days and I will be starting 🙂

    I can’t wait to read Landline. I tried hard to stay off the Rainbow Rowell bandwagon but she won me over with Fangirl ❤ This one sounds unbelievable and her covers are fantastic to boot!

Leave a Reply

