Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Will Make You Cry

Once again I’m doing a fun post on bookish top ten list, courtesy of The Broke & the Bookish.

For February 4: Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry (originally done November 2010) I’ve compiled some real tearjerkers, people. If you’ve read any of the following  you will understand how heartbreaking some of these reads are but well worth the cry. I’ve done something new for this post! Rather than trying to avoid spoilers-like-the-wind, I’ve decided to scour my paperback and hardcover copies to find awesome quotes. No real giveaways but these were from sappy, teary-eyed moments from awesome (mostly) YA novels.

And the Top Ten list reads:

Never Let Me Go: by Kazuo Ishiguro
Her voice had dropped again, almost to a whisper. “That was the worst thing I did.”

The Book Thief: by Markus Zusak
“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.”

If I Lie: by Corrine Jackson
He stares me down, challenging me to turn away. I don’t get it at first. And then I realize. We’ve never collected George’s story. He doesn’t pressure me. Doesn’t remind me that time’s winding away from us.  He gives me a chance to refuse. But it’s too late for that. I’ve already decided to stay.

Second Chance Summer: by Morgan Matson
I watched him watching the stars above, as streaks of light flew past. His eyes were focused, following one as it cut its path across the huge, dark canvas of the sky. “Stars,” he said in a voice that was clearer than he’d yet used that night, a voice that was laced with wonder.

Allegiant: by Veronica Roth
“Am I done yet?” I say, and I’m not sure if I actually say it or if I just think it and she hears it.

This Song Will Save Your Life: by Leila Sales
“Don’t be special.” That’s what I would say to my younger self if I could pinpoint the moment when I went astray. But there was no one moment. I was always astray.

Thirteen Reasons Why: by Jay Asher
“To miss her each time I pull in a breath of air. To miss her with a heart that feels so cold by itself, but warm when thoughts of her flow through me.”

The Fault in Our Stars: by John Green
“Oh, I wouldn’t mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock: by Matthew Quick
“Show me it’s possible to be an adult and also be happy. Please. This is a free country. You don’t have to keep doing this if you don’t want to. You can do anything you want. Be anyone you want. That’s what they tell us at school, but if you keep getting on that train and going to the place you hate I’m going to start thinking the people at school are liars like the Nazis who told the Jews they were just being relocated to work factories. Don’t do that to us. Tell us the truth. If adulthood is working some death-camp job you hate for the rest of your life, divorcing your secretly criminal husband, being disappointed in your son, being stressed and miserable, and dating a poser and pretending he’s a hero when he’s really a lousy person and anyone can tell that just by shaking his slimy hand—if it doesn’t get any better, I need to know right now. Just tell me. Spare me from some awful fucking fate. Please.”

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: by J.K. Rowling
Dumbledore watched her fly away, and as her silvery glow faded he turned back to Snape, and his eyes were full of tears.
“After all this time?”
“Always,” said Snape.
Annddddd cue the sobbing! Oh geez, now I’m a mess because I’ve brought back tearful memory reads. Someone hold me. Did I miss any good ones from my list? Did I also bring back the sobs for you because I picked out your favorite quotes? Personally I’m a glutton for punishment and continue to read books that just make me all weepy. I’d love to hear some of your favorites!

Until next time
xx Linz

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Will Make You Cry

  1. Oh maaaaan… you have so many on here that I’ve decided NOT to read because I KNOW they will make me cry! haha I will read Allegiant, though now I’m scared since you freaking cried! Also looking forward to reading Thirteen Reasons Why.

    • When I was looking for a quote/scene to use it reminded me of the need to re-read. It was really good!

      Yes…I picked some good tear-jerkers…you’ll get there, more likely w/ Allegiant than with HP haha!

    • YAY!! Yeah, Cassie got me to read it. I saw her tweets and I was like….ugh I just bought books, I shouldn’t buy another one LOL! But I loved it! Agree–definitely should have more readers!

Leave a Reply

