Attachments by Rainbow Rowell: Review

Um…let’s just dive right in because I’m SO READY!!!

Attachments
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: Dutton, a Penguin group
Release Date: 2011
Pages: 323, Hardcover
Received Copy: Personal Library

Synopsis: (via Goodreads)

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . “

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke. When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself. What would he say . . . ?

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Last February, right before Lent started, I had come up with an idea of what I could “give up for Lent”. Definitely not a strict Catholic, but man am I a product of that guilt–I always need to give something up. Anyway, I decided to give up: buying books. It was TORTUROUS! Well it was probably beneficial but not really because I need all the books.

At the time right before Lent I saw this book buzzing on my Twitter timeline…a book called Eleanor & Park. Apparently it’s good. I mean, it was on everyone’s must read list. So one of my twitter buds tweets, “Hey I’m meeting Rainbow Rowell at a book signing, let me know if you want a copy of E&P signed!” So I’m like wellllll obviously I need it and if I buy it now it won’t go against Lent, win-win. Long story short, my world was rocked by Rainbow Rowell. It was such a beautiful story. So that’s how I met Rainbow’s beloved works. I read fanfiction (guilty I know) so I was so eager to gobble up Fangirl, which I did–which I loved, but I my collection was missing one piece: Attachments.

I purchased this book not too long after I devoured Eleanor & Park but guess what? THAT WAS LAST YEAR! WHAT THE HECK HAVE I BEEN DOING WITH THIS SPECTACULAR BOOK JUST SITTING ON MY SHELF?! WHY HAVE I NOT READ THIS?!

Well Ms. Rainbow was at ALAMW this year which is right next door to me in Philly and I went! I had gotten my copies ready for her to sign but before I saw her I needed to read Attachments. I wanted to. I wanted to be the dutiful fan who can say “I’ve read all your books!” Squee!!

Sorry, I needed to share that, now onto the book & my thoughts…

Things I Liked:
-The concept: chapters alternate in emails between coworkers, Jennifer and Beth who work as writers for The Courier newspaper, and Lincoln’s storyline. It’s a great mix! Now usually I’m completely against different points of view, but this really worked because they never crossed paths. Lincoln seldom interacts with the characters, so you don’t get the info repeated.
-the emails: COMPLETELY relatable! As a girl who has conversed with a friend/coworker like that I got on the same level as Beth and Jennifer.
-the plot: I’m a sucker for fate, signs, meant to be, serendipities…basically because I yearn for it in my real life! Not a practical idea but if this happened in my real life I’d definitely write about it because I’d want to share it with everyone
-the characters: (I’m saving Lincoln for later) each other the characters brought something so relatable to the table; it felt like reading my own life, I cannot even begin to tell you! The mother, Lincoln’s sister and friends, his life and the decisions–all of it felt like I was reading my life….as a male character that Rainbow Rowell was writing haha
-the genre: I’m not sure if this is young adult? New Adult?…probably teeters on both but, I’d LOVE to read more books like this. Not afraid of adult language but not used excessively. Some intimate moments–which the perv in me wished there was just a little more making out, LOL, yet I was still completely satisfied with what I read.  The age of the characters? I’m close to Beth/Lincoln/Jennifer’s ages so again definitely relatable.  I love reading about the teens in high school or college, but I would love to read more of whatever this genre is!
Lincoln. What’s there to say except, he’s me. I loved him. His intentions. His decisions. He was cute. Adorable but also handsome. A character you read about and daydream about why he doesn’t exist in real life! His life is basically where I am. Every day. Thinking I need to do something with my life, date, love, better job, meet people. Replace his D&D playing with my reading and we’re the same!

Things I Didn’t Like:
.
.
.
.

….exactly. Wait no. I do know what I don’t like about it…NO SEQUEL! Oh god, what I wouldn’t do to just…sigh, I don’t know? Rainbow has a way with words and making these characters you fall in love with just so, I mean she could write about them reading the phone book and I’d be grateful! I mean you probably couldn’t make a sequel, I guess Rainbow could write the next chapter of his life but I mean, probably would need a new idea…watching re-runs of Seinfeld instead of Quantum Leap? Rainbow, make it happen!

Sorry I gushed all over this post. I’m really hoping this book is released all over in paperback because now she’s got the fans and this book is so underrated! I personally think it’s her best. I mean all three books touch a different audience but, I don’t know, this just radiates–I guess that could just be my personal preference though.

Overall rating: own it! Kindle or for your physical bookshelf, you’re not going to be disappointed! YOU NEED THIS!

xx Linz

PS…..here’s a pic of book club and I grabbing a photo at the signing (the sweetest)!

2 thoughts on “Attachments by Rainbow Rowell: Review

  1. Wait, do you have all her books signed? That is awesome.

    I’m excited to read this one 🙂 Don’t know if I’ll get to this or Landline first but Rainbow Rowell but it’s a win-win either way!

    • Yes ma’am! I got a friend to get me E&P signed and then I read it and at ALA I got her to sign my Fangirl. Then the book signing later that night she signed Attachments and I swooned hardcore haha!

      Yes you can never go wrong with anything Rainbow! Did you see she’s coming out w/ a graphic novel? It’s a collab, I think but I’ll take it!!

Leave a Reply

