Not A Drop to Drink: Review

So excited to post about this book!

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Not a Drop to Drink

Author: Mindy McGinnis
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: September 24, 2013
Pages: 320, Hardcover
Received Copy: Kindle deal; personal library

Folks, it’s been a while since I’ve read a dystopian book. I guess because I’ve been reading simplistic drama filled YA novels I forgot how awesome an alternate universe can be! If you have not checked out this book, make sure you put it in your “Must Read” list.

This story is about a water shortage in the world and Lynn, a country girl raised on her mother’s survival skills is left to defend her pond, one of the few major water sources close by ready for the taking.

Synopsis:
(via Goodreads description)

Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn’t leave at all. Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….
With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.

Things I liked:
-Lynn is bad ass! She’s kinda adorable without knowing it because she was raised “in the wild” I guess you could call it so she doesn’t know the simplest things. Example: she had never heard music in her life until halfway through the book. But she’s a great female lead–strong willed, rough around the edges but a heroine for sure!
-Not your average story. This is such an interesting subject to write about because it’s plausible. It could potentially happen one day, whether it’ll be in my lifetime or the next, water shortage could happen and how does one survive? You kind of have to go back to the stone ages to remember. While there were modern tones to the setting, there were tasks that seem so mundane it’d feel like ancient times if you couldn’t turn on the faucet to get a stream of water.
-A story that’s not a series. I’ve also been reading series when it comes to dystopian and it’s refreshing to see a book start and then come to an end. Even if more gets added, I won’t mind but it’s nice to see a full story and not read something that needs to be drawn out.
-Her mother. Having a strong female figure was great to see! The mom was a compelling character who had to do what was best for herself and her child–selfless, an endearing thing to read.
-Third Person! It’s been a while since I had read a book that wasn’t alternating POV or first person, so this was refreshing.

Things I didn’t like:
-I didn’t really have any issues with the book. It does touch on some abuse of women, although some is never clearly shown just heavily implied. That’s always a difficult thing for me to read because I get fueled by the hatred I have for that act alone. I feel like under the circumstances where basically these people end up living like it’s the Wild, Wild West again, it seemed a realistic thing. It’s plausible that an egotistical set of men would think they’re owed the world and were able to take advantage of anything and anyONE.

I’d definitely check this book out! It started out a little slow for me but again, it’s been a while since read this style: the alternate universe. But the further I read, the more into it I became! You’re in the dark just as much as our girl Lynn is but you learn and become as sharp as her character. The thought of having no water makes you think. Could you survive? I sure as heck know I wouldn’t last very long. I’d miss my carbs and my meat that comes in a package instead of hunting. Let’s not forget my thoughts on guns, I’d like never be able to survive, HAHA! I guess I shouldn’t be laughing when the zombie apocalypse or water drought comes 😦 What’s also awesome that it’s Mindy McGinnis‘ debut novel as a YA author!! What an excellent way to break out into publishing and I’m very excited to see what she comes out with next!

Overall rating: own it! Kindle or for your physical bookshelf, you’re not going to be disappointed!

xx Linz

Leave a Reply

