Top Ten Tuesday: TTT Debuts I’m Excited For


January 14: Top Ten 2014 Debuts I’m Excited For via  The Broke & the Bookish

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday focuses on anticipated debut authors in 2014. Usually I heavily rely on others for recs, I’m not the best at keeping up to date on who’s fresh & upcoming into the book world but I can tell you that I do try. That being said,  for this TTT, I’m listing mainly authors whom I’ve never read so to me they’re kind of like debut authors–in my own way!


Trouble by Non Pratt | Goodreads

A boy. A girl. A bump. Trouble.
I’ve been seeing this mentioned on my Twitter timeline and it looks so interesting! She actually IS a debuting author and this is one of my top anticipated novels I’m ready for.


We Were Liars by E. Lockhart | Goodreads

A beautiful and distinguished family. A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
Apparently 90% of who I follow on Twitter cannot stop raving about this book! While E. Lockhart has previously released, this one is a close second to my top, Trouble pick.


Save Yourself by Kelly Braffet | Goodreads

Has the narrative flair of Gillian Flynn and Adam Ross, the scruffy appeal of Donald Ray Pollock, and the addictiveness of Breaking Bad.
I found this reviewed by a fellow Goodreads friend, she gives awesome reviews–glad I just randomly followed her one day (similar interest reads) and I was so intrigued! I love all of the aforementioned in the book’s description that I know I won’t be disappointed!


The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson | Goodreads

Moving from town to town and finally having the chance to settle down will it work out? But now that Hayley Kincaid’s dad’s PTSD due to tours in Iraq could come back; does she have a shot at normal or will trouble brew?
Again this is a recent release, just a few days ago, and hearing great things! I’m always looking for the angst and hope of a good comeback. Again, not a debut title, but still really looking forward to it.


How to Love by Katie Cotugno | Goodreads

Reena has loved Sawyer since forever but he’s never noticed until one day he does. After a whirlwind romance, Sawyer disappears only only to come back into Reena’s life, but is it too late? To fall in love not once, but twice?
This has been sitting on my shelf for forever! But I believe Katie will be on a book tour in a few months around my area so I need to get crackin’ on reading this!


Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill | Goodreads

Think The Cutting Edge meets The Parent Trap. When the Sloane Jacobs’ switch will it be a success or skating on thin ice?
I might’ve just bought this book the other day–same as Impossible Knife Memory, it’s a recent release and of course with that gorgeous cover how could I not get my hands on it!? This description sounds like a fun ride & as a kid I used to ice skate so I’m excited to bring back memories.


Trust Me, I’m Lying | Goodreads

Julep Dupree is a con artist, a master of disguise, and a sophomore at a swanky Chicago private school. When she comes home one day to a ransacked apartment and her father gone, Julep’s carefully laid plans for an expenses-paid golden ticket to Yale start to unravel.
By the cover reveal, I was already hooked never mind the description–count me in!


Open Road Summer by Emery Lord | Goodreads

Breakups are hard and after Reagan’s recent one, she’ll need a little girl time with her best friend, country-singer superstar who just so happens to be going on a summer tour. Reagan is in for the summer of her life but what will it have in stored for her?
By the time I probably get around to reading this it *will* be summer time and I have a sneaking suspicion it’ll be the perfect read.


Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas | Goodreads

Paradise quickly gets gruesome in this thrilling page-turner with a plot that’s ripped from the headlines and a twist that defies the imagination.
This was a great Kindle deal the other day and a prior *almost-so-close* book club pick so I knew that I had to get the deal when I had the chance! Ripped from the headlines definitely grabs my attention and I’m always ready for a good thriller!


The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion | Goodreads

An international sensation, this hilarious, feel-good novel is narrated by an oddly charming and socially challenged genetics professor on an unusual quest: to find out if he is capable of true love.
If it’s about love, I’m usually a sucker for it. While thinking and hoping true love is real, in books it’s the best kind. Another stroke of luck on a Kindle deal so I can’t wait to start this as well…perhaps for Valentine’s Day??

What are some of your highly anticipated picks for 2014? I’d love to hear them, especially since like 95% of my list consists of non-debuting authors, haha, but again, I’ll be a first time reader for them all so it’s like a debut….for my book shelf!

xx Linz

Leave a Reply

