The Girl Who’s Pushing the Limits (haha, so punny)

thank you, thank you ❤

I did it! Woot–finished my SECOND book of the year…ALREADY! Yes, happy accomplishment there. Not only did I finish but AGAIN I’m on my A-game to post yet once more!

Guys I try, I really really do. And remember, I still don’t have a basic format so I need more time to play with the WordPress goodies so I can make the site look even cooler…or just cool, yes, just cool.

Now…onto the reveal of my latest read:

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Pushing the Limits (Pushing the Limits #1)

Author: Katie McGarry
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: 2012
Pages: 391, Paperback copy
Received Copy: Personal Library
**Note that this book have dual POVs**

I might have done this backwards. Last year I had gotten an ARC of Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2) from my friend and was told this was a companion series and I would be okay not having read the first book. Which I was–companion books are cool like that. You need one to make you fall in love and then get so excited when the original characters make appearances throughout the rest of the series! (like my most favoritest Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins!) While browsing through B&N the other day nothing was throwing itself off the shelves at me. I wanted something I knew I would enjoy instead of venturing into the unknown, and there we have my purchased copy of Pushing the Limits.

Synopsis:
(courtesy of the back book cover)

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth.
But when Noach Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common.
Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

I ended up really enjoying this book, definitely had some catching up to do because, again, I had started with book 2 instead of book 1 of the Pushing the Limits series. Granted reading fanfiction is not the same as a published book–HAHAHA wait, I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to fall into that one. What I’m trying to explain is that usually any time I read a multi-POV anything, it’s usually from my guilty pleasure of fanfiction. I tend to hate it because a lot of the time these authors repeat everything and I don’t like repetitive writing: plain and simple. But McGarry did a nice job of transitioning from Echo/Noah’s POV.

Another thing that can be a pet peeve of mine is a tragic past for characters. Sometimes it’s nice to just read about the boys and girls trying to fit into the YA-verse, they don’t need to have tragic histories to make them stand out, but again Katie McGarry did a nice job to add the weaving the drama into the high school universe. Noah is a babe. For sure, without a doubt a guy I wish had walked around the halls of my high school but sadly did not. There were definitely some parts in the story where I raged because parents and the social  services system in the US are the worst and I became so frustrated haha! Also I’m a person who gets in too deep with a story, so my emotions were flying everywhere.

Overall rating: Worth the buy (4 out of 5 book stars)
You’ll read it and swoon and need to read the rest of the Pushing the Limits-universe!

Until next time, keep reading!

xxLinz

Leave a Reply

