1st book down, 49 to go!

Okay, so I’m trying to actually come up with a format so I’m just feeling things out and taking advice from friends/bloggers so let’s see how it goes:

Girl, Stolen by April Henry

Girl, Stolen by April Henry

Girl, Stolen

Author: April Henry
Publisher: Square Fish, an Imprint of Macmillan
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 213, Paperback copy
Received Copy: Personal Library

I happen to stumble upon this while browsing another author on Goodreads. I’m interested in what others are always reading–sometimes that’s the best way to get rec’s but sadly most authors are writing rather than reading, which isn’t surprising, but I decided to browse this author’s profile and peek through her book selections. One that sounded interesting was this one, Girl, Stolen. In one of my many Amazon purchases I usually make, I decided to add this to my cart.

Synopsis:
(courtesy of the back book cover)

Sixteen-year-old Cheyenne Wilder is sleeping in the back of the car while her mom fills Cheyenne’s prescription for anitbiotics. Before Cheyenne realizes what’s happening, their car is being stolen. Griffin hadn’t meant to kidnap Cheyenne, but once his dad finds out that Cheyenne’s father is the president of a power corporation, everything changes–now there’s a reason to keep her. How will Cheyenne survive this nightmare? Because she’s not only sick with pneumonia–she’s blind.

From the plot’s description it sounded like something I would definitely be into reading. I mostly read YA so that fit. I usually like a bit of a love story, it had potential so a possible fit, and it had some suspense/drama, which I don’t mind reading as well. Altogether it seemed like a decent read, and it basically was. My problem is that I’m so SILLY and don’t have a library card. This book DEFINITELY should have been a library loan. While I don’t think the book cost more than $10-12 it’s just a book you’d read while waiting for your flight at the airport, or to kill time on the plane but not to buy. It had been sitting on my shelf and I thought, ‘Well it’s probably time to read this so I start cutting down on what’s on my shelves.’

Cheyenne is taken in the luxury car that is stolen, by Griffin, who comes from a shady family. Griffin basically has no good solution except only to take her, so he ends up bringing Cheyenne back to his house. Griffin lives with his dad who steals parts of cars and then resells them for profit. He’s got a temper, isn’t very smart, and is completely selfish when it comes to taking care of his son. Griffin knows what he did was wrong but he’s got a pretty depressing life so at the time he sees no other option, but after spending time with Cheyenne begins to realize he might be able to help her get out and deal with the fault of kidnapping. The most entertaining parts were the last 40-50 pages of the book where things had escalated to whether or not Cheyenne would be exchanged for the ransom. I did find things interesting about potential blindness (not actual term used haha, she’s legally blind). You learn that Cheyenne lost her sight when she was around thirteen and to me, that’s such a terrifying thought–to know what the world around you looks like and one day to have it abruptly taken away. I was however disappointed that there wasn’t more of a love story between Griffin (who’s stuck in the middle of the situation) and Cheyenne. I guess it didn’t have much time to develop although there were signs of possibility, the kidnapping is not over an extensive period of time so in way it was probably the most realistic. Sometimes I just pretend that in a world the bad guy becomes good and you’ll fall in love and live happily ever after but rarely does that happen or exist haha!

Overall rating: Library Loan (3 out of 5 book stars)
You’ll read it and then probably forget about it.

Hopefully this will be how my posts will go, that is if I can keep up with them!

xxLinz

Leave a Reply

